As provided n 2-18-615, MCA, an absence due to an illness will not be charged against unused
vacaiion leave unless approved by the employee.

i leave qualifics for FMLA leave and leave provided under State law, the leave used counts against
the employee’s entitlement under both laws.

For imformation about a specific leave policy, contact your supervisor, agency personng]
representative, or cal the State Personnel Division, Employee and Labor Relations Burcau, at 444-

3371,

JOB BENEFITS AND PROTECTION During and upon returning from FMLA leave, the
emplovees health insurance coverage will be maintained under the same conditions existing prior t
the us of FMLA leave.

An employee who normally pays a portion of the premium costs for health care or other insurance
coverage will be required to make the same contributions to maintain coverage during FMLA leave.

{f the emplovyee fails to make a required payment within 30 days of the scheduled due date, benefits
under the State’s health car Plan may be discontinued.

The employvee may be liable for repayment of health insurance premiums paid by the State during
the emplovee’s unpatd FMLA leave, if the emplovee fails to return to work after taking FMILA
_I\, AN

An employee on FMLA leave mayv elect to alter their contributions to a Flexible Spending Account
under certain conditions.

For information about arranging insurance payments or changing participation mn a Flexible
Spending Accounl during leave, contact your payroll representative or call the State Personnel
Division, Employee Benefits Bureay, at 444-3871.

In most situations, employees will be returned to thetr onginal position or an equivalent position
with equivalent pay, benefits, and other conditions and terms of employment.

The use of FMLA leave will net result in the loss of any employment benefit that accrued prior to
the start of an employee’s leave.

DINF ASHEUTL ACTS Y EMPTOYERS FMEA malkes it unlawfui to:

stere wirh, rairan, or deny the exercise of any nght pr_ovider_! under FMLA,

ENEOGCEMENTY The ULS. Department of Labor s avthonized o investicate and resels o
complatnis of vielations. An ehigible employee may bring a civil action aganst an emplover oy

viglutions,

Foradditionat information contacl one of the following,

A rour agency personnel officer

o Thwe State Personaet Diviston at 44203871

*

A0 e remonal ofbiee of the L8 Diepartment of Labor, Waere and Howr Divigion o0 sal foie
ey Ultaly, ot (801 323-53700,



NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE OF RIGHTS AND OBLIGATIONS UNDER THE
FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ACT OF 1993

The Famuly and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) of 1993 entitles chigible employees of the State of

Montana up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave for certain family and medical reasons,

Lligible State employees must have worked for the State of Montana for a total of 12 months, and
for 1,040 hours during the previous 12 months to qualify for FMLA leave.

REASONS FOR TAKING LEAVE Unpaid leave will be granted for any of the following reasons:

2 To care for the employee’s child after birth, or because of the placement of a child with the
cmployee for adoption or foster care;

r3 To care for the employee’s spouse, son or daughter, or parent who has a serious health
condition; or

0 For a sericus health condition that makes the employee unable to perform his or her job.

ADVANCE NOTICE AND MEDICAL CERTIFICATION The employee is required to provide
advance notice of leave whenever possible. Leave may be denied or delaved if these requirements
4re not met,

‘The employee maust provide 30 davs’ advance notice when the leave is foreseeable. When it is not
possible to provide advance notice, the employee must provide notice as soon as “practicable,
ordinarily within one or two business days after the employee learns of the need for leave.

Muedical certification may be required to support a request for leave because of a serious health
condition. Leave may be denied unul the employee submits the moedicul certification. The agency
may request a sccond or third medical opinion at the agency’s expense.

An employee is not required to obtain medical certification for the first six (6) calendar weeks of
feave lollowing childbirth.

An agency may require an ermployee 1o obtain subscquent medical certification to support the need
for ongoing leave. An employee may be asked to pertodically report on his or her status and inten

o ratem to work followinge leave.

Ao e awhe by been i FMLA leave dus o a scrous bialtn condition may be ashed 1w
cation that the cmployee 1s able to resume work. Restoration to crplovinent
be eminloves mrovides the fit-for-work certifivaie

ciplovees to accommodate requests for o reduced schedule or
¢ madically necessary. An aeency wili consider requests tor rednesd

il 1 S

SF Ternient ahsonces on a case- i)‘ -case basis for other reasons,

ShEE ! FEON OF PATD TEAVE Emplovee may request. or an sgency may reguirs, suhstituien
wihite pad leave tor unpaid leave provided by FAILAC For exienple, 1omay be aomropnal

I

seorted stck leave, annual [oove. or compensatary e tor unpaid v A

Approval toostihstiteie pand leave 15 contingent upon the emiployee 8 compiuine wit
chothility criterta and conditinti-for-use provision according o State poiioy.

chetitutien of paed feave For nnpind leave will not be possible m every insiance of PNV S feqne
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